9 Comments
Jun 16, 2021Liked by Geary Johansen

Hello Mr. Johansen. I offer one of my favorite quotes from the author Michael Crichton:

“Briefly stated, the Gell-Mann Amnesia effect is as follows. You open the newspaper to an article on some subject you know well. In Murray's case, physics. In mine, show business. You read the article and see the journalist has absolutely no understanding of either the facts or the issues. Often, the article is so wrong it actually presents the story backward—reversing cause and effect. I call these the "wet streets cause rain" stories. Paper's full of them. In any case, you read with exasperation or amusement the multiple errors in a story, and then turn the page to national or international affairs, and read as if the rest of the newspaper was somehow more accurate about Palestine than the baloney you just read. You turn the page, and forget what you know.”

As a scientist, I find this true when I read most articles on a subject area I know quite a bit about.

I try to keep this in mind when I read about things I know very little about (which is most things).

My question for you is, on other than a personal level (not taking anything media article at face value) HOW do we stop it?

Best wishes,

Jeff

Expand full comment
Jun 21, 2021Liked by Geary Johansen

Mr. Johansen: I encountered you via your comment at the June 21 Tocqueville piece at Quillette. I am here simply to alert you that it is "toe the line," not "tow the line."

Expand full comment

Troubling too is the fact that crime is now a for-profit business in the US -- Prisons-R-us Inc. wants as many people as possible imprisoned.

Expand full comment