27 Comments
Aug 8, 2022Liked by Geary Johansen

Since I watched news coverage of this amazing rescue -never knowing whether it was going to end in tragedy - I can’t wait to see the film. I did notice the families of the boys had no trouble at all with ‘white saviours’, possibly because they were real people who live on love, not Theory.

Expand full comment

"with the odd reference to White Saviours"

One of the most glorious moments in the history of mankind -- the entire bloody planet agreed that those kids were going to be saved no matter what it took and dozens of people put their lives in mortal danger -- and the wokies have to grumble about White Saviors. The only fatality, IIRC was a Thai diver.

"So have we reached Peak Woke?"

There is hope!

"Recently, the Halifax Bank in the UK experienced an en masse exodus of customers after a Social Media Manager told customers to leave the Bank if they didn’t like the new staff badges, complete with gender pronouns. "

Stinking marvelous. The proles are rising!

But as you say, purging academia will take one hell of a lot of work and time.

Expand full comment
Aug 8, 2022·edited Aug 8, 2022Liked by Geary Johansen

Love this post, Geary. I imagine the Thai kids and coach were grateful for any saviour, colour be damned. In today's environment surprised the producers stayed true to the races of the people in the real story. I am hoping to see the pendulum start to swing back to a place where all are respected and we can throw RACISM2.0(tm) and co-ideaologies on the bonfire. The people who helped me most have been white men and that includes helping me grow a career in finance. And it wasn't just one person, it was many all along the way. So I resent seeing white men be the subject of stupid marketer ideas and derogatory comments by brain dead wokesters with sub-standard uncritical thought processes. Over the years I've gone from dissonance to abject intolerance of the whole phenomena which seeks to see or invent malevolence where non exists in order to justify some moronic ideaology.

Expand full comment
Aug 12, 2022Liked by Geary Johansen

Woke is not over and it is just a part of a bigger something that for better wording I could call a movement. Maybe we reached peak of this nonsense but have not reached peak of all the other nonsense that is literally destroying the foundations of our society now: covidists insist on lockdown and the jab and I would be surprised if only Germany required FFP2 this winter. The net-0 in area of climate is another one. Eat the bugs, evil Ruskis, electronic currency controlled by the gov., social credit systems are other. I have no clue how it looks in other countries. I have broader access the real people only here in Germany and in Poland. In Poland people are sometimes willing to talk but as in Germany not willing to question the narrative. This is beyond their mental capacity and I can see why - just a few years ago I was like that too but then I started to have doubts - around 2015 - when my media accounts have been removed in a moment I asked questions about Merkel motives about "we cannot control the borders" back then. Then came reports of sea rescue missions at the cost of Libya when the number of drowned people fell when the rescue missions were forcefully stopped by Italian authorities. I read up material on this then. Then I read IPCC reports and investigated what real scientists really have to say about the subject. When covid came I was clearly on the wrong path - here in Germany they call us names for questioning orthodoxy.

This process is rare - I do not see many people going over it. Most of us just does what we always do. I have asperger which makes me very uncomfortable with things that do not add up.

I hope that woke has reached its peak indeed. I have my doubts. Has Travistock been closed and the criminals that drove it charged? No the clinic was just split into regional ones.

Maybe the media noticed that woke does not sell but more likely they feel the squeeze caused by these other polices now. I suppose this is how humanity always worked - there must be a big blow to change the path and sometimes we indeed reach the edge of the cliff and go over it.

When woke dies (which it did not) we still have these other policies that kill our civilization. There are plenty of them. This only ends when these policies clearly fail and people have nothing to eat.

In a poor country like Sri Lank it took one season to reach that point but the change did not come. - the regulation that caused the collapse are still enforced. I wonder what else must happen to stop these processes? Nuclear war?

Expand full comment
Aug 11, 2022Liked by Geary Johansen

I do hope you are right about peak woke. The signs are promising!

Good movie. I was impressed that they chose to skip over the whole Elon Musk drama.

Expand full comment

You reached a similar conclusion that I and others have come to. Nature is healing. We’ve a long way to go and we aren’t out of the woods yet. But we’re seeing the signs. Turns out people still have a little common sense. I’m not sure we’re at peak woke yet, but if we aren’t it’s coming soon.

Interestingly, in this article, David French also makes a similar point. I think he may even use the term “peak woke.” He is perhaps a little overly optimistic, but he also uses a phrase I happen to like and that I’ve applied to wokism and Rawlsian autonomy mumbo-jumbo: “reality gets a vote.”

https://frenchpress.thedispatch.com/p/culture-wars-end-with-consequences

It’s behind a paywall but you honestly it’s probably worth the $10 to subscribe for a month, read the article and go and read a bunch of their posts/archives, and then unsubscribe if you don’t want to continue. Plus the comments might be a good place to engage with people who might subscribe to your newsletter. Occasionally you’ll see me in the comments there.

“ Alas, the Long March through the institutions- in academia, the bureaucracy of the permanent state and many other aspects of public life- has been going on for a very long time. I suspect it will take a generation for the delusional pathology which has wormed its way into our institutions to pass. Maybe in twenty years time the current generation will look back on these years in the same way that those who lived through the radical sixties looked back on them in the eighties, with all but the ideologically committed experiencing a degree of abashment at the excesses and follies of youth, but I doubt it. ”

That’s basically my assumption too.

“ But only in those institutions which are responsive to market forces. ”

Turns out the solution is… the free market! The market actually does create virtue, after all! Bryan Caplan had some stuff on his Substack just recently about this too. Although he’s calling for more active market-based attacks on woke capital (hostile takeovers).

Expand full comment
Aug 8, 2022Liked by Geary Johansen

It may be that wokology has peaked, we can hope the sad fact is that we are not likely to regain much of the lost ground. Evil does much work unnoticed and that effort will not slow.

Thanks for the review. I passed on streaming it last evening to watch docus on the making of Dark Side of the Moon and Tommy. Maybe another evening. Cheers.

Expand full comment
Aug 8, 2022Liked by Geary Johansen

I share your hopes too. It does appear that wokeness is on the ebb . Like most cultural fashions it was a fad which was always destined to burn itself out. With sporting bodies beginning to properly exclude trans atheletes from women's competition things are indeed looking up.

I was never excised about the all female Ghostbusters though. That always struck me as just another gimmick to try and revive a dead franchise.

Expand full comment